LEGO: We’re Scrapping Star Wars Toy, But Not Because of Muslim Backlash

where will that take them.

NewsFeed

In January we asked “Is this LEGO Star Wars toy racist?” in reference to LEGO’s blocky rendition of Jabba the Hutt’s desert palace, as depicted at the beginning of the film Return of the Jedi.

(WATCH:Stephen Colbert Grills Peter Jackson about Next ‘Hobbit’ Movie)

The Turkish Cultural Community of Austria recently caused a stir by claiming the toy’s design was racially motivated, arguing that it was based on the Hagia Sophia in Istanbul and the Jami’ al-Kabir mosque in Beirut. Also: that the figures found in the set exemplify “racial prejudice and vulgar insinuations against … Orientals and Asians as sneaky and criminal personalities (slaveholders, leaders of criminal organizations, terrorists, criminals, murderers, human sacrifice)…”

It seems the toy’s demise is now at hand: LEGO says it plans to retire Jabba’s Palace, leading some to conclude the company’s caving to backlash. Not so, says LEGO in an Apr. 2 statement

View original post 202 more words

8 thoughts on “LEGO: We’re Scrapping Star Wars Toy, But Not Because of Muslim Backlash

  1. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after looking at a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m certainly happy I discovered it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

  2. Spot on with this write-up, I actually believe this amazing site needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the info!

  3. Having read this I believed it was extremely informative. I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this article together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

