Napoleon and Josephine’s Engagement Ring Sold At Auction for $949,000

awesome

NewsFeed

The ring that a young Napoleon gave to Josephine for their engagement in 1776 has been sold at auction for $949,000 (€730,000), not including commission and other fees. The winning bid was almost 50 times the $20,000 estimate that the auction house expected it to bring in. The auction was held on Sunday in honor of the 250th anniversary of Josephine’s birth.

“In my wildest dreams, I did not think we would outsell the estimate by more than 47 times,” said Osenat’s Emily Villane, who led the auction, told ABC News. “We based the estimates in our catalog on the actual market value of the ring, minus Napoleon and Josephine provenance. It is not our job to tell bidders how much they should pay for the historical premium.”

(MORE: Video: Princess Diana’s Dresses Set for Auction)

The auction house described the 18th century ring as a “simple”…

View original post 167 more words

9 thoughts on “Napoleon and Josephine’s Engagement Ring Sold At Auction for $949,000

  1. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this website. I’m hoping to view the same high-grade content by you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own website now 😉

  2. After checking out a few of the articles on your blog, I honestly like your technique of blogging. I added it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back in the near future. Please visit my web site as well and let me know what you think.

  3. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but after going through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly pleased I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

  4. Just wish to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clarity in your put up is simply great and i could think you’re knowledgeable on this subject. Fine together with your permission allow me to grab your feed to stay updated with impending post. Thank you 1,000,000 and please continue the gratifying work.

  5. This is the perfect webpage for anyone who would like to understand this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I really will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a brand new spin on a topic that’s been discussed for many years. Excellent stuff, just wonderful!

  6. Hi this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding experience so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

Leave a Reply

