Meteoroid falling over Russia caught on camera

damaged school window .

damaged school window .

A meteoroid broke up in the atmosphere over the
Russian city of Chelyabinsk on Friday morning,
injuring nearly a thousand people as it lit up the sky
and sprinkled fragments over the city.
Mikhail Yurevich, regional governor of Chelyabinsk,
said up to 950 people suffered injuries from flying
glass and debris as windows exploded from the
shock wave.
The toll is believed to be the largest number of
people ever injured by space debris. “I am
scratching my head to think of anything in recorded
history when that number of people have been
indirectly injured by an object like this,” said Robert
Massey, deputy executive secretary of Britain’s
Royal Astronomical Society (RAS).

“It’s very, very rare to have human casualties” from
a meteorite, he said.
Mr Yurevich said that two-thirds of the injuries were
light wounds from pieces of glass and other
materials. In the city of Chelyabinsk alone, 758
people had required medical help, the city said in a
statement on its website. Sixteen were hospitalised,
including three children.
Video footage taken by residents on dashboard
cameras in cars and mobile phones in the Urals city
showed a meteor streaking through the sky, and
then a blaze of light followed later by the sound of
explosions and breaking glass.
A warehouse wall at a zinc factory in Chelyabinsk,
900 miles east of Moscow, collapsed from the force
of a blast and at least one school had its windows
blown out, injuring children.
Local residents expressed their shock and fear on
social media. “I thought the world was about to
end!” said one. One video showed residents
swearing and shouting “It’s a bombardment!” at the
sound of an explosion which sets off car alarms.
Lyudmila Belkova, a kindergarten teacher, told
reporters: “I was giving a PE lesson when I saw a
white streak in the sky through the window, and
then there was a bright flash. I shouted at the
children, ‘Lie on the floor and close your eyes!’ And
then there were five or six explosions. Some of the
kids raised their heads but I shouted at them to
keep their eyes closed.”

Schools and kindergartens were closed and about
20,000 rescue officials were put on high alert, while
the city’s internet and mobile phone services were
disrupted.
“It was a meteoroid that burned up as it approached
the Earth and broke into pieces,” an emergencies
ministry official told news agencies. The object,
which disintegrated at about 32,800ft, left a clear
double trail in the sky.
Police said they had initiated “Operation Fortress”,
increasing security at strategic buildings.
It was unclear if fragments of the meteor reached
the ground, or if shock waves alone had caused the
damage. Some witness spoke of dust and small
pieces of debris falling. The regional governor’s
office said one part of the meteoroid had fallen in a
lake near the town of Chebarkul, 50 miles west of
Chelyabinsk.
“This was a very bright bolide that was perfectly
visible in the light morning sky; the object was
quite big with, apparently, a mass of many tens of
tons,” Sergei Smirnov of St Petersburg’s Pulkovo
Observatory told Russian state television.
Another scientist said it most likely weighed “a few
tons” and was probably made of iron.

[telegraph.co.uk]

15 thoughts on “Meteoroid falling over Russia caught on camera

  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few
    pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is great blog.
    A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

  2. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thanks, However I am encountering difficulties with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I can’t join it. Is there anybody else having identical RSS problems? Anybody who knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  3. Having read this I believed it was extremely informative. I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this content together. I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  4. I blog quite often and I genuinely appreciate your information. This article has truly peaked my interest. I’m going to book mark your site and keep checking for new information about once per week. I opted in for your Feed too.

  5. Having read this I believed it was extremely enlightening. I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this information together. I once again find myself personally spending a lot of time both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  6. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance. I must say that you’ve done a superb job with this. In addition, the blog loads very quick for me on Safari. Superb Blog!

  7. Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Taking the time and actual effort to make a really good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a lot and never seem to get nearly anything done.

  8. I just want to say I am all new to blogging and really liked your web site. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You actually have really good well written articles. With thanks for sharing your blog.

  9. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this site.
    I am hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts by you in
    the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to
    get my own site now 😉

  10. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  11. Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions? Many thanks

Leave a Reply

