Grammy Awards 2013: The Real Winners And Losers

When last year’s Grammy Awards ended, it was
clear that Adele was the show’s sweetheart, hauling
home six gramophone statuettes.
This year’s ceremony didn’t have as clear a winner
as the British sensation, who added to her lifetime
total with a win in the “Best Pop Solo Performance”
category, but it put a spotlight on artists outside the
vaunted pop realm.
Dan Auerbach, one-half of rock duo the Black Keys,
took home the most awards for the night, reeling in
four Grammys, including those for “Best Rock
Song” and “Best Rock Album.” While the Black
Keys won three awards in 2011, this year’s show
felt like a coming out party of sorts, which arguably
included the strongest live performance of the night
with “Lonely Boy.” The pair, however, were shut out
of the bigger categories of the night, namely
“Record Of The Year,” which went to Gotye, and
“Album of the Year,” which went to Mumford &
Sons’ Babel.
Accepting the award on behalf of his band, Marcus
Mumford and his so-called “sons” claimed the
show’s biggest prize, which despite their 12 total
nominations was only their second award (the band
had won earlier in the day for their role in the long-
form video winner Big Easy Express).
“We were in the [pre-telecast] stuff and we had six
nominations … and one after the other [the winner
was] like Black Keys, Black Keys,” said Mumford.
“We thought last year was Adele’s year and this
year was the Black Keys’ year… We didn’t really
care about winning.”
Some may see Mumford & Sons as representing a
return to commercial viability for Americana/folk.
Babel was the fourth biggest selling album in the
U.S. in 2012, moving 1.4 million units.
“They’re one of my favorite bands ever,” said “Best
Country Album” winner Zac Brown (of the Zac
Brown Band) about Mumford & Sons. “It’s great
seeing real music getting the spotlight.”
While some may debate electronic dance music
(EDM) and its place in “real music” there’s no
denying the genre’s growth at the award’s show.
Sonny Moore, better known as Skrillex, swept the
traditional EDM categories, winning three awards
for “Remix Recording,” “Dance Recording” and
“Dance/Electronica Album.” The number two
grossing electronic DJ with revenue of $15 million
in 2012, Skrillex is just one manifestation of how
the industry has turned its attention from typically
pop-focused electronic contributions to “the scene
that came out of the underground,” said Moore.
“The difference [now] is the culture we come from
is what’s getting the limelight,” he later added.
That limelight is coming not only from the
Recording Academy, but from the business side as
well. Officials at the International Music Summit
recently noted that the EDM industry could be worth
over $4 billion annually, and current negotiations
for DJ residency deals in places like Las Vegas
suggest that figure could be much bigger as more
revenue is derived from live shows as opposed to
album or song sales.
While the awards seemed spread out across various
artists this year when compared to 2012, one
nominee who came away empty-handed was Chris
Brown. Polarizing because of his out-of-studio
antics, he lost out to brawl partner Frank Ocean in
the “Urban Contemporary Album” category, and
was later singled out on Twitter for failing to give
the winner a standing ovation with the rest of the
crowd.
If early indications are correct, it would also seem
as if CBS is another loser on the night. Last year’s
production was the second most-viewed show in
event history with 39 million tuning in, mainly
because of Whitney Houston’s death the night
before. Given the high bar set last year, it looks
nearly impossible to CBS to break that number.

[Forbes.com]

36 thoughts on “Grammy Awards 2013: The Real Winners And Losers

  1. It’s appropriate time to make a few plans for the long run and it is time to be happy.
    I have learn this submit and if I could I want to recommend
    you some attention-grabbing things or advice. Maybe you can write next articles relating
    to this article. I desire to read more issues about it!
    facebook
    facebook

  2. Touche. Great arguments. Keep up the great work. instagram user profile, buy instagram followers
    cheap [help.expertsystem.ru], drive more moreattract subscribers in instagram
    buy followers on instagram provides top quality social solutions.

  3. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d most certainly donate to this outstanding blog!
    I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group.

    Talk soon! One method to youtube views should be to get superstars
    recruit a new post for you personally.
    you can easily buy real youtube views, youtube subscribers/views
    and YouTube views and comments.

  4. Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is wonderful, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Grammy Awards 2013: The Real Winners And Losers | SavyTrendy .

  5. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is excellent, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Grammy Awards 2013: The Real Winners And Losers | SavyTrendy .

  6. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is excellent, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Grammy Awards 2013: The Real Winners And Losers | SavyTrendy .

  7. I simply had to thank you very much once again. I do not know what I might have followed without these methods contributed by you about such a subject matter. It was actually a real depressing condition in my view, however , taking a look at this well-written manner you managed it made me to weep over delight. I will be grateful for the information and thus expect you comprehend what a powerful job you have been putting in educating many others through your blog. Most likely you have never met all of us.

  8. I seriously love your site.. Great colors & theme. Did you create this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m attempting to create my own personal blog and would like to know where you got this from or just what the theme is called. Many thanks!

  9. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who has been conducting a little research on this. And he actually ordered me dinner simply because I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending some time to talk about this matter here on your blog.

  10. An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment. I think that you ought to write more on this subject matter, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people don’t discuss such issues. To the next! Many thanks!!

  11. I’m extremely pleased to uncover this great site. I want to to thank you for your time for this particularly fantastic read!! I definitely really liked every bit of it and i also have you saved to fav to look at new stuff on your website.

  12. When I originally left a comment I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I receive 4 emails with the same comment. There has to be an easy method you can remove me from that service? Kudos!

  13. I seriously love your website.. Great colors & theme. Did you develop this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m planning to create my very own blog and would like to learn where you got this from or just what the theme is called. Many thanks!

  14. I just want to mention I’m new to blogs and absolutely loved this web page. Likely I’m going to bookmark your website . You absolutely have remarkable articles. Appreciate it for sharing with us your web page.

  15. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is fantastic, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Grammy Awards 2013: The Real Winners And Losers | SavyTrendy .

  16. Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is fantastic, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about Grammy Awards 2013: The Real Winners And Losers | SavyTrendy .

  17. Hello, i believe that i saw you visited my weblog so i got here to go back the choose?.I’m attempting to to find issues to enhance my web site!I guess its good enough to use some of your ideas!!

  18. Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is wonderful, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Grammy Awards 2013: The Real Winners And Losers | SavyTrendy .

  19. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the structure of your site?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.

    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it
    better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  20. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say superb blog!

  21. Thanks for another informative website. Where else may just I get that type of information written in such an ideal way? I’ve a undertaking that I am simply now running on, and I have been on the glance out for such information.

Leave a Reply

