Pantech Introduces $50 Smart Phone.

pantech_1357856948_600x275Pantech isn’t exactly the most high-flying brand of cell phones in America, but that hasn’t stopped them from trying to gain some speed. Their latest productis a $50 smart phone that includes a high-quality, rear-facing camera and plenty of other features, and AT&T is launching it tomorrow.

The Pantech Discover will retail for $49.99 with a two-year agreement, and will be available starting January 11. It’s the first AT&T smart phone that comes preloaded with the AT&T DriveMode application, an app that is designed to prevent texting while driving.

It’s a 4G smart phone and comes with a 4.8-inch 1280×720-resolution screen, and has a 12.6-megapixel camera with 4x zoom on the back. It can also record HD video in 1080p. It comes with dual 3D surround sound speakers also, and near field communication technology allows users to share content, read smart tags, pay for things, and more, from their phone.

As for the DriveMode app, the way it works is by setting it up to auto-reply to text messages received once a car starts moving 25 mph. It sends all calls to voicemail, but the user has the option to create a list of exception numbers or turn the app off entirely.

The phone was initially announced in September 2012, and it comes with Pantech’s Easy Experience and Standard Experience modes, which are both Android formats of use.

Lest you think you have to sacrifice memory, the Discover comes with 16Gb of on-board memory.

The vice president of marketing and sales at Pantech, Gary Cherner, said, “Pantech is taking 2013 by storm with the launch of Discover.”

Do you agree?

15 thoughts on “Pantech Introduces $50 Smart Phone.

  1. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after going through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I came across it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

  2. Greetings, I do think your blog could possibly be having web browser compatibility issues. Whenever I take a look at your site in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up! Aside from that, fantastic blog!

  3. The very next time I read a blog, Hopefully it does not disappoint me just as much as this particular one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read through, nonetheless I actually believed you would probably have something helpful to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you can fix if you weren’t too busy looking for attention.

  4. You are so interesting! I don’t suppose I’ve truly read through a single thing like this before. So good to find somebody with genuine thoughts on this subject matter. Really.. many thanks for starting this up. This website is something that is required on the web, someone with a bit of originality!

  5. Can I simply just say what a comfort to uncover somebody that actually knows what they are discussing on the net. You certainly understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More and more people must look at this and understand this side of your story. I can’t believe you’re not more popular since you most certainly have the gift.

  6. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and may come back at some point. I want to encourage one to continue your great writing, have a nice day!

  7. Having read this I believed it was extremely informative. I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this information together. I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  8. The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesn’t disappoint me just as much as this one. After all, Yes, it was my choice to read through, however I really thought you would probably have something helpful to say. All I hear is a bunch of complaining about something you can fix if you weren’t too busy looking for attention.

Leave a Reply

