CES 2013: Samsung shows off new flexible display technology.

Samsung’s aiming to make smartphone tech a
little less rigid with the introduction of new,
flexible screens that can be used in smartphones
and tablets to make them more resilient.
In the keynote presentation at the tConsumer
Electronics Show, Samsung device head Stephen
Woo and lab lead Brian Berkeley showed off
bendable, rollable, foldable displays with several
concept devices. The flexible screens, which
Samsung has branded as Youm, are designed to
have displays as rich and crisp as current
smartphones, but with more options for form
factors.
In one example, CNET noted, the screen bends
around the edge of the device to display
information on the side of it, similar to the
information on the side of a book. More broadly,
flexible screen technology could help improve the
resilience of consumer technology devices and
make them even more portable.

The company also showed off a number of
hardware components and processors that will let
its devices run faster and more powerfully, while
also consuming less energy than current devices.
The company’s presentation was light on details
about when any of the tech would actually appear
in consumer devices.
Samsung has been focused on shaking up the way
that consumers look at their screens by playing
with different form factors. The company also
introduced an OLED television with a curved
display, meant to give the set a more natural
appearance.
Wednesday’s keynote also featured a few words
from former president Bill Clinton, who has
worked with the company’s charity efforts in the
past. Clinton spoke about ways mobile technology
can help address problems in the developing
world.
Clinton also spoke briefly about the need for gun
control in the United States as well as solutions
for global climate and political problems, saying
that technology can help break down barriers
people construct to avoid “people who don’t agree
with us,” Engadget reported. Deploying
communication and processing technology — and
making it available to more of the world — he
said, can help bridge gaps.

15 thoughts on “CES 2013: Samsung shows off new flexible display technology.

  1. very interesting post, enjoyed it, thanks.we moved to ip based cameras and will never look back they offer so much more features over traditional ones and are usually cheaper.

  2. An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment. I think that you should publish more about this subject, it might not be a taboo matter but generally folks don’t talk about such topics. To the next! Best wishes!!

  3. When I originally commented I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I receive 4 emails with the exact same comment. Is there an easy method you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

  4. I really love your site.. Very nice colors & theme. Did you build this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m hoping to create my very own website and would love to know where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Appreciate it!

  5. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this website. I am hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own, personal website now 😉

  6. My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was entirely right.
    This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  7. This is the perfect website for anyone who really wants to understand this topic. You understand a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a fresh spin on a topic that’s been written about for a long time. Wonderful stuff, just great!

  8. When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get 4 emails with the exact same comment. Is there an easy method you can remove me from that service? Thank you!

  9. Howdy! This post couldn’t be written much better! Going through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this. I’ll forward this article to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a great read. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

