6 Tips to a Successful Mentorship

The business world is brutal, rewarding, difficult,
exciting, and can pretty much be considered a
rollercoaster of emotions. Having someone to
coach you through it and guide you through the
maze of challenges is extremely valuable. I’ve
been fortunate to have some amazing mentors in
my life, and equally as fortunate to mentor some
other leaders. Here are some tips that can lead to a
successful mentorship relationship.
1. Know What You’re Looking For in a Mentor:
The first step in finding a mentor is knowing what
you want in a mentor. Ken Oboh, co-founder of new
startups in the music scene (Umix and Remix),
spoke with me about their initial search for a
business coach/mentor.
“Before we met Dush, Chris and I had a long-term
vision of where we wanted to go, but we needed a
mentor to connect our vision/strategy to actionable
steps,” Oboh said. “We wanted to get connected to
the key people within our industries, the guidance
of an expert who had built several businesses and
helped others do the same to guide us through the
process, to track our progress, as well as keep the
relationships with all these key people growing and
flourishing at all times. This is exactly the powerful
role that our coach and mentor Dush has been
playing ever since we met.”
2. Find a Mentor Who Is Active in the Industry
Oboh also offered this great advice: “Our very best
tip is to look for a business mentor/coach from
within the industry you’re operating in or aspiring to
join — and particularly within organizations/
companies you already work with or would like to
work with in the future. Even if you can’t have a
direct formal relationship with someone in this
position, his or her industry-specific knowledge,
contacts, key relationships, and overall experience/
business savvy will prove very valuable and
powerful as you build your business in that
industry.”
3. Make Your Smartest Friend Your Mentor
Matt Wilson, co-founder of Under30CEO and
Under30Experiences, has had mentors and
mentored others himself. He gave some great
advice about what to do when you’re struggling to
find a mentor.
“Find your smartest friend and make them your
accountability partner,” Wilson said. “Schedule a
weekly call, and keep each other on track. Make
this a priority, and make sure you have an agenda
for this call.”
4. Make Your Travel Buddies Your Mentors
Wilson believes the friends you travel with can be
the most valuable mentors: “Finding retreats like
Under30Experiences allows you to form real bonds
with like-minded people and start building the co-
mentor relationship. When it comes to mentorship,
there is nothing better than building a non-
transactional friendship formed over amazing
experiences. True friendship is the best mentorship
of all.”
5. Understand the Mentor’s Style
A mentor’s knowledge in the industry is important,
as is the compatibility of their style to your own.
Kelli Richards, CEO of The All Access Group and a
trusted consultant, coach and mentor to start-
ups, had some advice on finding the right mentor
match.
“It’s helpful to get a sense for the mentor’s
philosophy and style,” Richards said. “How open-
minded are they? How worldly? How do they speak,
write, and present themself as a professional? But
really the most important things to assess are fit
and trust. Does it feel good to interact with the
mentor? Have they achieved things that can
accelerate the entrepreneur’s path? Can they
impart wisdom that will make a lasting difference
to the person being mentored?”
6. Know the Difference Between a Mentor
and a Coach
Richards has been both a mentor and a coach in the
past, and there is a big difference in the type of
relationship for the mentee. “Mentoring is largely
reactive, whereas coaching can be proactive as
often as reactive,” Richards said.
“I have worked both as a mentor and a coach to
different startups and management teams. When
I’m approached to work with a client I determine
early on which relationship makes the most sense
given the circumstances, and I educate the client as
to what structure I think will serve them the best
and make the best contribution towards the results
and goals they say they want to achieve.”
If your potential mentor is more comfortable in a
coaching setting, there may be another option for
you and your startup!
The Challenge:
Use Your Experiences Being Mentored to
Become a Mentor
Kelli is a great example of a hybrid — someone
who has been mentored and is now a mentor
herself.
“It’s my own experiences of being mentored by two
world-class mentors that has really inspired me to
become a strong mentor myself,” she said.
“I have been lucky enough to be mentored by Alan
Cohen and Alan Weiss — the former a leader in the
personal growth movement and a best-selling
author many times over, and the latter being one of
the most sought-after consultants in the world and
himself a best-selling author.”
Kelli can easily pull on her experiences as a mentee
to know how to most effectively mentor others.
As a fellow hybrid mentor/mentee, I agree with Kelli
that it is extremely gratifying and actually very
valuable to my business. The more people I mentor,
the more I learn about my business and myself.
Mentoring people helps me understand the challenges I may face when I start my next company and keeps me in tune with the latest trends. So here’s my challenge for each of you: find a mentor, then be a mentor.

17 thoughts on “6 Tips to a Successful Mentorship

  1. Hey There. I found your weblog the usage of msn. This is a really smartly written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your useful information.

    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  2. My brother suggested I would possibly like this website. He used to be entirely right.
    This put up truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how so much time I had spent for
    this information! Thanks!

  3. I don’t know whether it’s just me or if everybody else experiencing
    issues with your site. It looks like some of the written text on your content are running off the screen.
    Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well?
    This may be a problem with my internet browser
    because I’ve had this happen before. Cheers

  4. Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I
    was curious about your situation; many of us have developed
    some nice procedures and we are looking to exchange strategies with others,
    be sure to shoot me an email if interested.

  5. Really stimulating… professional epoxy flooring is significant when appearing to prettify your garage area. SomeSome people attempt to accomplish the work themselves, but homeowners have found there are really many potential problems and pitfalls that the layman maycan be heedless of. As a result we usually advise those needing consistent and also quality end products to acquireto get a expert contractor for installs.

  6. Next time I read a blog, Hopefully it won’t fail me just as much as this particular one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read through, but I actually thought you would probably have something useful to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you could fix if you weren’t too busy searching for attention.

  7. Next time I read a blog, Hopefully it does not disappoint me just as much as this one. After all, I know it was my choice to read through, however I really thought you would probably have something interesting to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of complaining about something you could fix if you were not too busy searching for attention.

  8. I must show my thanks to you just for rescuing me from such a predicament. Because of scouting through the world wide web and meeting proposals which were not powerful, I figured my entire life was well over. Living without the solutions to the difficulties you’ve solved all through your guideline is a crucial case, as well as those that would have badly affected my entire career if I hadn’t discovered the blog. Your own personal understanding and kindness in handling almost everything was priceless. I don’t know what I would’ve done if I hadn’t come upon such a stuff like this. It’s possible to now look forward to my future. Thank you very much for your professional and amazing guide. I will not be reluctant to endorse your site to any person who wants and needs recommendations on this problem.

  9. Hi, I do think this is an excellent web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to come back yet again since I book-marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide others.

  10. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say great blog!

  11. After I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I receive four emails with the exact same comment. There has to be a means you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

