Finally: Soccer Team Walks Off Field in Response to Racist Chants

Racism in European soccer is a relatively common, but players actually responding to those chants isn’t normal at all. For the most part, players ignore the racist European fans who are trying to rankle them and
continue on with the match.

In Italy, however, AC Milan players walked off the field when racist fans began chanting, thus abandoning an exhibition match in the first half with
lower division club Pro Patria on Thursday. The chants which prompted the team to walk off the field were all directed at black players, and they
were continued even after the announcer urged the racist fans to stop. Having had enough, Ghana midfielder Kevin-Prince Boateng picked up the ball and kicked it at a section
of the crowd in the 26th minute of the first half. Then Boateng walked off the field with his fellow teammates.
“Walking off was the right choice when faced with something like this,” Milan coach Massimiliano Allegri said. “We need to stop these uncivil gestures. Italy needs to improve and become better educated and more intelligent.”
The Italian soccer federation (FIGC) said, “We need to react with strength and without silence to isolate the few delinquents that transformed a friendly
match into a mess that offends all of Italian football.”
Many soccer fans will also recall the incident where Russian fans tossed a banana at a black soccer player:
A Russian soccer fan threw a banana at Chris Samba after his team, Anzhi Makhachkal, lost to another team in Moscow on Sunday. To Samba’s credit, he tossed the banana back into the crowd. The Congolese born soccer player called the banana incident “an act of a stupid person.”

Boateng later tweeted, ”Shame that these things still happen… (hashtag )StopRacismforever.”

9 thoughts on “Finally: Soccer Team Walks Off Field in Response to Racist Chants

  1. I blog frequently and I genuinely thank you for your content. This great article has really peaked my interest. I’m going to bookmark your blog and keep checking for new information about once per week. I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

  2. Hello! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same topics? Thank you so much!

  3. I seriously love your website.. Very nice colors & theme. Did you make this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m trying to create my own personal site and would love to find out where you got this from or what the theme is named. Many thanks!

  4. I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and entertaining, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that too few men and women are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I stumbled across this during my search for something relating to this.

  5. Hello, Neat post. There’s an issue together with your site in internet explorer, could check this… IE nonetheless is the market leader and a good component to folks will miss your fantastic writing because of this problem.

  6. Hello I am so happy I found your blog, I really found you by error, while I was searching on Yahoo for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a tremendous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

