Spaceport Sweden will be the first to offer space flights from Scandinavia

arctic-town-2

Humankind has been dreaming of travelling to space for a vacation away from

earth since a while now. Previously, we’ve come across initiatives by Golden Spike, Virgin Atlantic and Xcor Lynx that will help us non-astronaut folks take vacation trips to outer space. Now, a company in Arctic is busy building a crossover between a space shuttle and an airplane that will enable trips to the heavens and back. Spaceport Sweden’s director Karin Nilsdotter thinks this to be a practical endeavor that will also help pull in the crowds to the town of Kiruna where the company is based.

“We’re working on establishing commercial flights from Sweden to space for tourism and research, and to create a launching pad at the airport,” says Karin, speaking from the Swedish Institute of Space Physics (IRF). According to what’s been planned, these trips could last for a whole two hours and will have sub-orbital flights taking passengers 100 kilometres above Earth. The experience includes five minutes of weightlessness before the shuttle returns back home.

10 thoughts on “Spaceport Sweden will be the first to offer space flights from Scandinavia

  1. Hey there! Quick question that’s completely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?
    My site looks weird when browsing from my iphone. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to
    correct this issue. If you have any recommendations, please share.
    Thanks!

  2. After I originally commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on whenever a comment is added I receive four emails with the same comment. There has to be an easy method you can remove me from that service? Thank you!

  3. My husband and i got very fulfilled Michael could finish off his survey through your ideas he acquired in your web pages. It is now and again perplexing to simply possibly be giving away secrets and techniques which usually many others might have been trying to sell. So we know we need you to be grateful to because of that. The main illustrations you have made, the easy blog menu, the friendships your site help instill – it’s got everything unbelievable, and it is aiding our son and our family do think that idea is satisfying, and that is truly serious. Many thanks for all!

  4. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa? My blog discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other. If you’re interested feel free to send me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

  5. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but after looking at a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m certainly pleased I discovered it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

