Gigaom

Anyone who has ever owned a T-Mobile MyTouch is familiar with the little button on the lower right-hand corner labeled with stylized “G.” It’s T-Mobile’s Genius button, which, once pushed, allows you to issue basic voice commands from calling or texting a contact to searching the web or Google Maps(s goog). If you’ve used it before then you know: Siri(s aapl) it’s not.

The service’s vocabulary and contextual understanding is pretty limited. For instance, if you ask Genius to “find a restaurant” it will pull up the nearest eatery on Google Maps. But if you ask it to find “nearby restaurants” it searches Maps for a joint named “Nearby.” If you’re like me, you’ve probably fiddled with the button a few times and never touched it again, despite its relative convenience on the phone’s faceplate.

But T-Mobile has given Genius a much-needed overhaul, at least on the latest versions of…

View original post 344 more words

9 thoughts on “

  1. You’re so cool! I don’t believe I’ve read a single thing like that before. So good to find another person with some genuine thoughts on this topic. Really.. many thanks for starting this up. This site is one thing that is needed on the web, someone with a bit of originality!

  2. After I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on whenever a comment is added I recieve 4 emails with the same comment. Is there a means you can remove me from that service? Cheers!

  3. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It will always be useful to read through articles from other writers and practice something from other sites.

  4. Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; many of us have created some nice practices and we are looking to exchange techniques with other folks, please shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  5. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and interesting, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is something not enough folks are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy I stumbled across this during my hunt for something relating to this.

  6. I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this website. I am hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my very own blog now 😉

Leave a Reply

